A majority of people are accustomed to erasing data. Every day people move redundant downloads to the recycle bin, delete cache to make up more space. However, do you know what happens to the files you delete?
Quite a few individuals will feel relief when they discern that, in a majority of cases, erased data is not permanently gone. Many times, people delete files on account of an accident. In such events, the option to retrieve deleted data is a good thing.
However, individuals delete data and forget about it until they want to recover it. Also, many individuals do not understand that the data does not get removed permanently.
Where does the deleted data get stored?
A widespread misunderstanding when erasing data is that it gets entirely deleted from the hard drive. But, people should know that personal files can be recovered from the hard drive even after they have deleted them. When a user deletes stuff, it gets shifted to the recycle bin or trash. Unless the user removes these files from the recycle bin or trash, these files are still not gone. When you purge the recycle bin or trash can, the data can still be accessed from the hard drive.
When a file gets deleted, it is sent to the recycle bin. With the help of a recovery tool, this file can be recovered from the system’s hard drive. Just because you cannot see something does not mean that it is not there. Many individuals are ignorant about this and end up putting their security and privacy at risk.
Do deleted files get completely removed?
Malicious individuals and attackers can get access to private data stored in the device even after the user has deleted it. This consists of every data stored in the system such as photos, spreadsheets, etc. Users often think that they have deleted data and it is permanently gone. Many times, users sell their device after formatting it, thinking that they have erased all the information stored on the computer.
When is it safe to delete files?
- When the files do not carry private or confidential data, and they are not of any significance to anybody, then you can delete them.
- If you want to make up more space on your system or organize the system, then you can delete files.
Here is what users need to ask themselves before they delete any file:
- Will you require the data at a later time?
- Can this data be used against you?
- Will you feel disconcerted if somebody retrieves the deleted files?
If you answered no to the questions mentioned above, then you can delete the files without any hassle.
In which cases is merely deleting files not sufficient?
If the documents bear any private or sensitive information, such a credit card reports, bank details, social security number, etc., then you should take measures to make sure that the documents cannot be recovered from the hard drive when you delete them.
How can you permanently delete files?
Many people format their hard drives and think that the data is completely gone. They are wrong, as the data can be restored. Use any data eraser to safely and completely remove any information stored on your hard drive.